I found this great list on Deborah Raney’s site (amazing author, by the way! If you haven’t read Beneath a Southern Sky, you are seriously missing out!):

B.J. Hoff, author of the Mountain Song Legacy series from Harvest House (and many other wonderful novels) has put together one of those “If you like _____, then try _____” lists as a way of introducing readers to some of the best in Christian fiction. I’ve read something from almost every author on both sides of the list, and B.J.’s comparisons are spot on:

If you like Philippa Gregory, Diana Gabaldon, and Sara Donati, try Liz Curtis Higgs, Jane Kirkpatrick, and Lynn Austin.

If you like Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes, try Kristin Billerbeck and Trish Perry.

If you like John Grisham, Harlan Coben, and Robert Parker, try James Scott Bell, Alton Gansky, and Brandt Dodson.

If you like Luanne Rice, Richard Paul Evans, Nicholas Sparks, and Anita Shreve, try Deborah Raney, Karen Kingsbury, Karen Ball, and Robin Lee Hatcher.

If you like Jodi Picoult, try Angela Hunt.

If you like John Jakes, try Jack Cavanaugh.

If you like Harper Lee and Dorothea Benton Frank, try Jamie Langston Turner and Ann Tatlock.

If you like Anne Tyler and Alice Hoffman, try Lisa Samson and Patty Hickman.

If you like Pat Conroy and Leif Enger, try Athol Dickson and W. Dale Cramer.

If you like Julie Garwood and Debbie Macomber, try Lori Copeland and Diann Mills.

If you like Mary Higgins Clark, Sue Grafton, Tami Hoag, and Kathy Reichs, try Colleen Coble, Terri Blackstock, Brandilyn Collins, and Dee Henderson.

If you like L.B. Graham and C.S. Lewis, try Karen Hancock and Kathy Tyers.

And please don’t forget B.J. Hoff’s wonderful stories about Irish immigrants! B.J.’s writing has the flavor of two of my favorite all-time authors, the late Eugenia Price and Catherine Marshall. This is a wonderful list whether you are new to Christian fiction or not.


Do you have any “If you like _____, then try_____” suggestions?

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

7 Responses to Not sure which Christian books to try? If you like… Then try…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign up for updates and freebies!

More from Kindred Spirit Mommy
Must Read!
Archives